About Us

Who We Are

The National Social Inclusion Foundation (NSIF) is the Central Body for receiving and allocating public funds to NGOs. The Foundation operates under the aegis of the Ministry of Social Security, Social Integration and Economic Empowerment.

The NSIF receives, manages and allocates CSR funds collected by the Mauritius Revenue Authority (MRA) under Section 50L of the Income Tax Act and funds as may be appropriated by Government through the national budget.

The primary focus of the Foundation is to generate better social outcomes for the poor and vulnerable groups while ensuring accountability and transparency in the use of public funds.


To be a catalyst for change,
driving social inclusion, equity and sustainable development


To empower and improve the wellbeing of people living in conditions of poverty and vulnerability
through impactful and sustainable stakeholder partnerships

Our Core Values

The Foundation is committed to a principled way of working. Its mission and work are based on the following core values.

Professionalism, integrity and fairness

The Foundation upholds a professional, honest and ethical behaviour at all times. It gives fair treatment and consideration to everyone.

Accountability and transparency

The Foundation takes responsibility and is answerable to stakeholders for its policies decisions and actions. It is committed to disclosing in clear, accurate and complete manner its activities and performance.


The Foundation believes that more can be achieved by working together. Its work is grounded on the fundamental basis of effective collaboration with stakeholders.


The Foundation works with and through NGOs to deliver programmes that have a positive impact on the lives of the poor and vulnerable people.

Efficiency and Service

The Foundation is committed to provide a timely, responsive, efficient and high quality of service to stakeholders.

Respect and stakeholder engagement

The Foundation has due regard to the views and expectations of stakeholders and is committed to engaging with them in constructive dialogue.

What we do

The objects of the Foundation are to:

  • Undertake programmes and projects for the benefit of individuals and families registered under the Social Register of Mauritius and of vulnerable groups as defined in its Charter
  • Establish and update a register of NGOs/NPOs and allocate funds accordingly
  • Request and examine calls for proposals for the implementation of programmes and projects by NGOs/NPOs
  • Monitor and evaluate programmes and projects funded by the Foundation
  • Serve as a platform for coordination and communication among all stakeholders
  • Liaise with the relevant Ministries to facilitate implementation of programmes and projects by NGOs/NPOs
  • Promote the UN Sustainable Development Goals 2015-2030.

Strategic Goals

Ensure effectiveness of programmes and projects supported by the Foundation

Promote stakeholder collaboration and coordination

Empower NGOs to improve the impact and efficiency of their actions on the ground

Build and uphold a principled, professional and service-driven organisation culture and reputation


The Charter

The Charter is the main governing document of the Foundation. It defines the Foundation’s objects and powers, areas of intervention, beneficiaries and the composition and procedures of its Council.

The Council

The overall performance and activities of the Foundation are overseen by a Council composed of multistakeholder representatives from the public sector, private sector, civil society and academia. The Council sets out strategic directions, provides management oversight and ensures good stewardship of the Foundation.

Council Members

Mr MUNIEN Medavy PillayChairperson
Mrs CURRIMJEE SarahPrime Minister’s Office
Mrs LAN HING PO JeanneMinistry of Social Integration, Social Security and National Solidarity
Mrs RAMCHURN KamlawateeMinistry of Finance, and Economics Planning and Development
Mr RAMKALOAN Kevin Private Sector
Mrs D’HOTMAN DE VILLIERS Marie Florence AudreyPrivate Sector
Mr RAY SurajCivil Society
Mr MOHER Ramjuttun O.S.KCivil Society
Dr RAVAT Jonathan O.S.KAcademia
Mrs BABOORUN TooneelaAcademia


Six standing Committees are appointed by the Council to ensure the proper functioning of the Foundation in line with its Charter.

Dr RAVAT Jonathan O.S.K
Mr MOHER Ramjuttun O.S.K
Mrs D’HOTMAN DE VILLIERS Marie Florence Audrey
FINANCE FINANCE Mrs RAMCHURN Kamlawatee (Chairperson)
Mr MUNIEN Medavy Pillay
Mr MOHER Ramjuttun O.S.K
Mr MUNIEN Medavy Pillay
Mrs D’HOTMAN DE VILLIERS Marie Florence Audrey
Mrs BABOORUN Tooneela
Mr MUNIEN Medavy Pillay
Mrs BABOORUN Tooneela
Mrs D’HOTMAN DE VILLIERS Marie Florence Audrey
CAPACITY BUILDINGMrs D’HOTMAN DE VILLIERS Marie Florence Audrey (Chairperson)
Dr RAVAT Jonathan O.S.K
Mrs BABOORUN Tooneela
Mr RAI Suraj
Mr RAMKALOAN Kevin (Chairperson)
Mrs RAMSAMY Minackshi
Mrs LAN HING PO Jeanne
Mr RAI Suraj


The Secretariat is the operational arm of the Council. It implements policies and decisions of the Council and carries out the day-to-day work of the Foundation. The Secretariat is led by the Secretary-General who is the chief executive officer of the Foundation supported by a senior management team, executive officers and administrative staff.


Secretary General
SOWDAGUR AjaySecretary General[email protected]
MOHIDEEN AzadFinance Manager[email protected]
LADEGOURDIE-RAVATON PriscillaProgramme Manager[email protected]
RAGOOBUR VishalResearch & Development Manager[email protected]
DABEECHARUN AmedeeProgramme Manager[email protected]
MAUMOONDEE-GALORE SarojaProgramme Manager[email protected]
SOHAN-BULLYWON RimaHuman Resource Manager[email protected]
NAECK VassenActing Director (Fortified Learning Environment Unit)[email protected]
Programme Officers
LE CHARTIER-JUGMOHUN SophieProgramme Officer[email protected]
BONNEFIN Thea CandiceProgramme Officer[email protected]
NAIDOO TrishneeProgramme Officer[email protected]
GUNESH SurajProgramme Officer[email protected]
BUNDHOO NehaProgramme Officer[email protected]
DAJEE-TATTEA HemanginiProgramme Officer[email protected]
TANGMAN PODIAPEN JenniferProgramme Officer[email protected]
LO HUN MEKEN SandrineProgramme Officer[email protected]
MARTINGALE AnouchkaProgramme Officer [email protected]
RAMESSUR AmritdassProgramme Officer [email protected]
RAMCHUNDER ReyanProgramme Officer[email protected]
POLIAH Ritesh RaoProgramme Officer[email protected]
RUGHOONAUTH HemantProgramme Officer[email protected]
IT Officer
OOGUR Nishal KoomarIT Officer[email protected]
Finance Officers
CASSIM NafisahFinance Officer[email protected]
POMOSAWMY HemlakumaranFinance Officer[email protected]
Research Officer
TENGUR DrishtaResearch Officer[email protected]
Human Resource Officer
PURMESSUR LeewawteeHuman Resource Officer[email protected]
Administrative Staff
JHUGROO NishtaAdministrative Assistant[email protected]
PEERBUX PEERBACCUS ReezwanahAdministrative Assistant (Fortified Learning Environment Unit)[email protected]
BUNDHOO DeepaConfidential Secretary[email protected]
GENGUDU AlvinaGeneral Executive[email protected]
BUNGSY Coomaree PadmawteeGeneral Executive (Fortified Learning Environment Unit)[email protected]
DAMOO BenazirGeneral Executive[email protected]
LUCHMUN NistaGeneral Executive[email protected]
RESAL Bibi SharinGeneral Executive[email protected]
RAMKAILAHUN AnishaGeneral Executive (Fortified Learning Environment Unit)[email protected]
RAMNAUTH ArjunGeneral Executive (Fortified Learning Environment Unit)[email protected]
SEEBORUN YoveenaGeneral Executive (Fortified Learning Environment Unit)[email protected]
SEERUTTUN PriyaGeneral Executive (Fortified Learning Environment Unit)[email protected]
VILMONT StephanieGeneral Executive[email protected]
KHETUR MEETOO KurstinaCustomer Care Officer[email protected]
BHUROSAH VanishreeOffice Attendant
ELAHEEBOCUS AreedOffice Attendant
MANDAREE FawezOffice Attendant (Fortified Learning Environment Unit)